Love Remains

The focus of this year is about discovering what my purpose is. Literally answering “Why am I here” in as much such existential questions can be answered.

The bible says in Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart”. I love the idea of that, of course I do, who wouldn’t love the idea of a God above giving us our heart’s desire. Then my mind naturally travels to wondering what is my heart’s desire. Sometimes they are grand and self-sacrificing—like I sell all my worldly goods and start a mission in Africa spreading the gospel and feeding hungry aids ridden and dying children. In my darkest moments I want to be killed in a snuff film with a needle filled with heroin dangling out of my arm. Both “desires” and both involving a walking away from my present life. Thankfully the light and love of Christ saves me daily from the darkness…and myself.

So, where do I begin my journey of self-discovery and finding my purpose. For me the start is that I want to change the trajectory of my life and also for me the answers can only be found in the word of God.

And for me I begin as I know I will end, with love. Love for my God. Love for myself. Love for a world that is hurting.

For in the end…Love Remains.