Singing In Dark Times

destroyed town

“Motto”

In the dark times will there also be singing?

Yes, there will be singing about the dark times.

–Bertolt Brecht

In life there are stones and flowers. When I listen to the news of late there seems to be a skewed balance of stones over flowers in this world:

War without end

Mass incarceration and disenfranchisement

Human trafficking

Growing disparities between the haves and have nots on a global scale and the dismantling of any kind of safety net for the poor

These are dark times indeed. So I ask myself amidst so much despair in the world how can I be that light in the darkness. How do I sing in the dark times. Lately, I have been calling to mind how in Mark 5:35-41, Jesus and the disciples get caught in a storm at sea and the disciples are fearful for loss of life and Jesus calms the sea and brings peace. Then he says to the disciples “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” It is slowly dawning on me that I have been living my life fearful and without faith. I don’t have to perish in the sea, for God has said “Peace, be still!” to the storm. So I dare to wonder, if I can finally bring peace to my storm within can I pass it on? Can I trust that God’s light is stronger than the darkness in this world. Can I have faith to move mountains.

In life there are stones and flowers. Today, I smell the honeysuckle in bloom.