762

iStock-518089854.jpg

762

What a heart breaking number, 762, the number of homicides in Chicago in 2016, along with thousands more shootings last year, over 80% of them being young black men. Welcome to the killing zone. I’m from a small town in Ohio so growing up it was always a big deal to take that five hour drive to the big city. The most vivid memory I have of those trips is driving past the high rise, low income housing on the South Side, “the projects”, because what I could only glimpse at from the highway horrified me. Even as a young child they looked big, scary and bombed out, like the war zones you see on tv,  at 10 years old I knew human beings shouldn’t live that way. My dad would make a comment about how we as black people suffered, I should count my blessings and live in gratitude and I do,  as a black woman in America I only feel thankful that my parents worked hard to give me a safe upbringing in the suburban Mid West, wanting their children to have better than they did. My father trying to give me a quick life lesson; but, we were soon at our hotel on Michigan Ave., the magnificent mile, and those suffering were soon forgotten. I love being black, I love black people, but, I have like the rest of America, briefly acknowledged the suffering and struggles of those in the inner city feeling bad for a moment, but mostly forgotten them in the selfish, self absorption of my own life. No longer.

Democrats, Republicans, its a zero sum game either way, with WE The People always on the losing end. See.