Silence

img_1731

I have often heard that in order to find yourself you must first lose yourself.

So, I guess that begs the question “What does it mean to lose yourself”, for me it’s a letting go. Let go of your ego. Let go of your pride. Let go of your vanity. Let go of control. Even a letting go of the plans, the dreams you had for your life. An emptying out that you may be filled anew. And at the same time a quieting, a stillness and a listening. To shut out all the noise that blocks the quieter communication that comes from the depths of one’s soul, the spirit man. For me, even in my prayer time, I am trying to learn to do less talking and more waiting, more listening. The running narrative is that as the world devolves into hatreds and divisions and the ever constant and ever present wars, murders, rapes and untold and secret horrors and abuses, God looks down uncaring, remote and silent. But, how can we expect to hear from God if we are never quiet, never silent with Him, so that we can listen? Shh, He’s speaking. Hear.