Enjoy The Silence

84D4BFC1-81D3-41B3-921A-E2B9D6E1251E

My intention was and is to remain silent on the election, to not add my voice to the cacophony. And not just politics, the noise level of the world has been…

I am relearning to be silent. Relearning to be still. For it is only in the silence, only when we are still, that we are even able to hear that small, quiet voice of the Holy Spirit.

BUT!!!!!! Kadir Nelson’s “ Election Results”cover for the latest edition of The New Yorker…let’s just say it was love at first sight. So, this post is simply my desire to have this little girl’s image on my blog. And to proclaim how much I love Kadir Nelson’s work. There are so many reasons I subscribe to The New Yorker. Let me count the ways… Kevin Young’s poetry podcast, the insightful political and economic commentary of John Cassidy, Hilton Als’ views on art and culture, the satire of Borowitz. But, near the top is that I just simply want to support the magazine that supports the amazing work of Kadir Nelson. The eyes of love through which Nelson sees and draws Black America makes my heart swell.